Saving a Google document or Google Doc to work on it offline is useful if you’re about to fly and Wi-Fi on the plane is horrible or if you need to work without the constant distractions of the Internet. Setting up your Google documents, so they are also available offline is a moment. But you will have to use Google’s browser, Chrome.
Unfortunately, if you use Safari, Firefox, or another new browser, this does not work. But Chrome is easy to install, and you won’t have to change your browser completely if you don’t want to.
Install Chrome and the offline extension
If you use a different browser, you will have to install Chrome before you can activate the offline job option. Download the installer and follow the instructions. It is a process that only takes a few minutes, depending on your Internet connection.
With Chrome already installed, install the Google Documents extension offline.
What can be saved to access it offline?
You will have access to Google Documents, Spreadsheets, and Presentations.
Set the offline mode
After installing Chrome and the extension, follow these steps:
- Go to Documents, Spreadsheets, or Presentations in Chrome. You only need to visit one of the three pages since the configuration will be synchronized with all other services.
- Click on the menu icon in the upper left corner and then in Settings.
- Activate the Offline
- An alert will appear at the bottom of the screen, informing you that you have configured synchronization offline. Once this is done, another alert will inform you that the configuration has been done successfully.
Access your documents offline
If there are specific files that you want to make sure they are always available offline, you can view your list of documents on the Documents, Spreadsheets, or Presentations reception page. Click the button with three dots to the right of the document, followed by Available Offline. A checkmark will appear next to the document to inform you that the file is also available offline.
You can edit or work on that kind of documents in the same way you would normally. When you have connected again, your changes will be synchronized with your Google account.